God, my Anchor

I know I’ve been writing about this a lot. Forgive me. It’s been on my mind a lot.

Does it ever scare you that the universe is infinite?

You could keep floating in space forever. Get lost. Never find your way home. Lose sight of Earth.

And what if we’re all alone? Just us, alone in infinite space. You could keep going forever, and keep finding planets. But no life. No intelligent alien life.

Just the thought of that raises the hair on the back of my neck.

All alone. There’s so much out there. So much.

Without a God, it’s all hopelessly infinite. No home. Space stretching out forever. Time never ending. Infinite past, infinite future, and an ever-fleeting present.

It’s the scariest thing I’ve ever thought.

That’s why I need God.

God is my Anchor.

The Anchor of my soul.

If I were to lose my place in space, my God would be my home.

 

~Emilino

Leave a Reply

