At the sight

(My, my, this one is long. Please do your best to stay with me.)

 

When I was a little girl

I saw monsters

Jeering at me at night

In the darkness of my room

When my door came unhinged

And lunged at me

And snow fell from the ceiling

And wolves growled beside my bed

And demons danced around me

 

Maybe they were demons

Maybe I hallucinated

My mom came in one night

When I was crying

Don’t fall in”

I told her

Don’t fall into the crack

In the floor”

 

As I got a bit older

The hallucinations stopped

And were replaced by nightmares

Every night

Like any other little kid

As I started to understand the world

Just a bit more

As I grew up

 

I remember the nightmares

A scorpion the size of a dinner plate

With the face of a woman

I remember

A cobra

Waiting to bite me

As I fell from my top bunk

I remember

Coming home

And the gored body parts

Of my pet hamster

Lying around my house

 

I grew yet older

I remember my best friend

Who turned on me

Because she needed me to stay

And I misunderstood

What she needed

I remember

A head injury at her house

That haunted me

For a reason I still don’t know

And yet it still haunts me

 

I remember

Crying on my bed in the dark

Depressed, hopeless, selfish

Depressed for years

Unending

I don’t remember

The years before

I don’t remember

What it was like

To be young and innocent

And not struggle with depression

 

I remember

Finding God

In that darkness

Hand outstretched

Compassion pouring

From His gaze

And those holy fingers

Opened my eyes

And the nightmares

Had been demons

And the hallucinations

Had been demons

And they fled

When my Lord took hold

Of my heart

 

And I cried

And I cried

And Jesus lifted me from

The darkness of my childhood

Lifted me from

The trauma

Of my head injury

And He’s beautiful

So beautiful

So beautiful

 

His touch

The sweetest

Anywhere

Indescribable

That took my burden

That sat me in His lap

And showed me the beautiful things

In this dark, dark world

 

I grew up

And I changed

And the world changed

And everything changed

And times came

And times went

But God stayed

God stayed

And His love

Sheds light

On darkness

 

And the darkness flees

And the demons run

And Satan pales

And Hell scabs over

 

At the sight

At the sound

At the mention

Of the Lord’s

Beautiful

Love.

 

Emilino

Picture courtesy sciencelearn.org.nz

Song by Phil Wickham courtesy on Youtube.com

2 responses to “At the sight

  1. Pingback: Into This World | Danroberson's Blog

Leave a Reply

