Trust like a sparrow

“Are not five sparrows sold for two copper coins?  And not one of them is forgotten before God.”  Luke 12:6

Sometimes we, as Christians, try to make ourselves love God.  “I should care more right now,” we think.  “I should love Him.” and we try to fill ourselves with God.

But that’s not how it works; you can’t make yourself overflow with love for someone.  My youth pastor has told me, on several occasions, that love is a choice, not a feeling.

Yes, love is a choice.  I choose to love God.  Sometimes I don’t feel very faithful.  And truth is, I’m NOT very faithful.  So to make up for it, I sit there and try to “love” God.  Sometimes it’s late at night, while I sit on my bed and read the Bible; or, very often, I am at church singing praises to Him.  And I don’t feel very full, if you know what I mean.

Well, like I said in my previous post — sometimes, when you feel like God isn’t really filling you up, you just gotta drop all your emptiness and run after Him.

God will take care of us, no matter what.  That’s how He is.  He is faithful and just, no matter what happens.  He will never change.  He is always for us.  And who can be against us when He is for us?

A sparrow doesn’t try to make itself follow God.  A sparrow just DOES follow God.  Of course, we are different from sparrows.  We have much, much more to hold account for than a sparrow does.

But a sparrow trusts God blindly.  And God takes care of the sparrow.  If a sparrow decided to live on the ground and never fly, it would die.  Sparrows are meant to fly.  They are created to fly.  Just like we are created to trust God.  We are created for God.  What if one day we just decided to ignore Him?  To do exactly what He prohibits us from doing?  We would die.  And, actually, we do that.  Every day.  Non-Christians and Christians alike turn our backs to God and do our own thing.  And I, being a Christian, know what happens each and every time I do that.  Things don’t go well for me.  I break.  I cry.  I feel so desperate.  I feel like I have no support, nothing holding me back from eternal oblivion on the other side; even though that doesn’t even exist.  I feel awful when I do my own thing and ignore God.

So I constantly remind myself just to trust Him.  Trust Him blindly, like a sparrow.  If I just trust, I’ll be taken care of.  God will see after me.  That’s what He wants to do.

So, trusting blindly like a sparrow, I won’t try to fill myself with God.  I’ll just drop all my emptiness and run after Him.

 

Emilino

Picture courtesy cgi.ebay.com

 

Leave a Reply

