Remember the goodness of God.

Psalm 27:13:

I would have lost heart, unless I had believed

That I would see the goodness of the Lord

In the land of the living.”

 

 

This verse means a lot to me. I don’t know if it means anything to you, but I’m going to talk about it anyway because I really love it.

There are times when we, people, Christian or not, are depressed. Everybody will be sad at times, whether or not depression is their common struggle. It’s mine. I struggle with depression a lot. At times it’s so bad that I know it isn’t just another normal occurrence, but actually a spiritual attack.

You may have felt this before – those times when the air itself is heavy on your shoulders, when nothing seems right anywhere, and you feel like there’s nothing in all existence that could possibly lift this weight off your shoulders. And you pray, and you pray, and you seek God’s hope, but somehow you just have no fight left in you. And prayer and seeking God and reading the Bible just seem to have no effect on anything at all.

 

There are those times, and they suck. Really, they suck a lot. But then there are times when everything is perfect, everything is pure, everything is happy. And you think to yourself, “This is how it’s supposed to be. There’s nothing and no one that can challenge me now. This, this right here, this filled and rising feeling in my chest, is like heaven on earth.”

 

Those are the good times, the times you always want more and more of. They’re the best. When everything, really everything, seems absolutely perfect. That’s how I felt this summer.

But all through September and still now, it’s like there’s nothing but a memory of the perfect contentment I felt in summer, particularly a summer camp in August. Things aren’t so fulfilling anymore, things aren’t so happy and I don’t feel so utterly content with life.

So, I continually tell myself this verse. Psalm 27:13. I tell myself that even if times like these seem to last forever, they won’t stay, not if I stick with God. As long as I remember those good times and believe that desolation is not everything, that fulfillment will return, I can get through these tough times.

 

David writes of this feeling – and many can relate. We know the good times versus the bad times and we know what it’s like to remember the good times when we’re in the bad. “I would have lost heart,” David writes. “Unless I had believed…” Just believed. Believe. Believe in those good times, in God, believe in the hope He will give you, and hang on to your heart. These bad times can’t last forever, just as long as you continue to believe. You don’t have to “muscle your way through it.” All you have to do is believe and cling to the God-given hope, and you’ll make it. You really will. It’s a promise. It’s God’s promise.

I’ll restore you,” God whispers, His voice mingling with David’s writings. “I’ll restore you, child, as long as you trust Me. As long as you believe Me.”

 

Here’s that promise, in the next verse, Psalm 27:14:

Wait on the Lord;

Be of good courage,

And He shall strengthen your heart;

Wait, I say, on the Lord!”

 

Emilino

Picture courtesy successandfailure.net

One response to “Remember the goodness of God.

Leave a Reply

